Alieu Momar Njie, Chairman of the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), has been elected as the 2nd Vice President of the ECOWAS Network of Electoral Commissions at the 6th Biennial General Assembly in Abuja.

The new 5-member Steering Committee is expected to serve the regional body for the next two years (2019-2021) according to ECOWAS Official site.

The ECONEC ended with the following decisions:  Adoption of the Activity and Financial Reports of the past two years;

Respecting the principle of the linguistic balance (Anglophone, Francophone, and Lusophone) as enshrined in its statues.

Dr. Maria do Rosario Lopes Pereira Goncalves, Chair of CNE of Cabo Verde was elected as the President. She takes over from Professor Mahmood Yakubu, Chairman of INEC, and other members are Mr. Newton Ahmed Barry, Chair of CENI, Burkina Faso as the 1st Vice President, Mr. Alieu Momarr Njai, Chair of IEC the Gambia as 2nd Vice President, Mr. Amadou Ba, Chair CENI, Mali as Treasurer and Madam Jean Mensa, Chair EC Ghana as Deputy Treasurer.

According to a publication on the official site, The Permanent Secretary of the Network and the Head of the ECOWAS Electoral Assistance Division (EAD), Mr. Sourou Francis Gabriel Oke, will assist the Steering Committee.

The Regional Network is the umbrella organization of Electoral Management Bodies (EMBs) in West Africa founded in 2008 to promote free, fair and credible elections.

Part of its objectives is to promote free and credible elections in West Africa and to strengthen public confidence in the electoral process through free and credible electoral procedures.

The next regular Biennial General Assembly of ECONEC will take place in Praia, Cabo Verde in 2021.

Source link